Measuring Marketing Effectiveness with Google Analytics

Published on Nov 19, 2018

No Description

PRESENTATION OUTLINE

Measuring Marketing Effectiveness

with Google Analytics

Need to know

  • Effectiveness of different types of visit
  • Effectiveness at converting visits to leads
  • Effectiveness of budget and time investment

Lay a good foundation

  • UTM Parameters: Add tracking data to as much traffic as possible
  • Goals: Measure what matters to your business

UTM Parameters

  • Codes go into the URLs we give out
  • Accurately track individual campaigns and creatives

Analytics Demo

Generating UTM Parameters

UTM Parameters

Goals

  • Specific events that are valuable to our business
  • Think about commercial outcomes

Goals

  • Sales
  • Leads
  • Intent
  • Engagement

Goals

  • Track Micro and Macro Goals
  • Look for correlations
  • Encourage Micro Goals that lead to Commercial Outcomes

Goals - Funnels

  • Steps on the way to a goal
  • Find and fix issues with the customer journey

Analytics Demo

Setting up a Goal and Funnel

Goals - Assigning Value

  • For eCommerce, it's our sales value (usually)

Goals - Assigning Value

  • For Leads, get an average value
  • e.g. from 1000 leads we sell 200 products and make £100 per sale on average = £20,000.
  • Each lead is worth £20

Goals - Assigning Value

  • e.g. Monthly Newsletter signups
  • 1% of my list buy a product each send, Average of 1 year before unsubscribe.
  • Average order value is £50
  • Newsletter signup is worth £50*1%*12 = £6

Goals - Assigning Value

  • For micro goals, think about what makes sense
  • What percentage of people who do x go on to do y
  • £value(x) = y / x * £value(y)

Effectiveness of budget

  • Should you spend more money on leads?
  • If so where from?
  • Or should you invest your budget on improving site?
  • Or developing content?

Effectiveness of budget

  • ROAS - Return on Ad Spend = Total Income / Ad Spend
  • ROI - Return on Investment = Total Profit / Total Ad Costs

Analytics Demo

Some Key Reports for Measuring Effectiveness

To get any value from using Analytics...
You MUST make decisions based on what you measure

Make easy changes first and gradually become more advanced