1 of 11

Slide Notes

DownloadGo Live

Five Pillars of Islam

Published on May 01, 2020

No Description


Five Pillars of Islam

 By Aurora Tollinger


Profession of Faith
Photo by chelmkamp

Shahada: Profession of Faith

  • Establishes monotheism: “There is no God, but God…”
  • Establishes Muhammad as the prophet of God: “...and Muhammad is his prophet…”
  • Muslim= submission (surrender) to God
  • The Shahada is the first thing whispered into an infant’s ears at birth
  • And the last thing a Muslim hears


 Five Daily Prayers
Photo by Cam_Buff

Salat: Five Daily Prayer

  • Before praying: wudu(ritual washing)
  • A Muezzin calls people to pray
  • Praise or recitation of the Qur’an
  • Pray towards the Ka'bah in Mecca
  • In mosques, Men and Women worship in different areas


 Giving to Charity
Photo by Tom Parsons

Zakat: Giving to Charity

  • Muslims must give 2.5% of their income anually
  • Zakat pays for soup kitchens, clothing, school, and shelter
  • Zakat purifies wealth
  • The Qur’an says that people with wealth need to share
  • Reminds people of God’s gifts


Fasting During the Month of Ramadan

Sawm: Fasting durring Ramadan

  • Helps Muslims empathize with the poor
  • Muslims must fast when the sun is up
  • Muslims are supposed to forgive people
  • At sunset, Muslims read part of the Qur'an
  • Eid al-Fitr is the celebration that ends Ramadan


Photo by Camera Eye

Hajj: Pilgrimage to Mecca

  • Muslims, who are able, must perform Hajj once their lifetime
  • Dress in white cloths to show that they are equal
  • Muslims circle the Ka’bah seven times.
  • Run between the hills where Hagar found a spring
  • Sacrifice an animal to share(Eid al-Fitr)